Skip to main content

OSHRCOccupational Safety & Health Review Commission

Current Commissioners

Heather L. MacDougall

Image: Heather L. MacDougall

On August 16, 2017, Heather L. MacDougall was sworn in as Chairman of the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission after being appointed to the position by President Trump. The Commission is an independent federal agency that provides administrative trial and appellate review and was created to decide contests of citations or penalties resulting from OSHA inspections of American workplaces. Chairman MacDougall returned to the Commission following the U.S. Senate's confirmation on August 3, 2017, of President Trump's nomination of her to be a commissioner at the agency for a term expiring in April 2023.

Previously, Ms. MacDougall served the Commission as Commissioner from April 2, 2014 through April 27, 2017. She was designated by President Trump as Acting Chairman from January 23, 2017, through the conclusion of her prior term.

Prior to her appointment to the Commission, Ms. MacDougall had 20 years of experience representing employers throughout the U.S. with regard to matters involving labor, employment, and occupational safety and health law, most recently with Akerman LLP in West Palm Beach, Florida. In addition, she previously served as Chief Legal Counsel & Special Advisor to OSHRC Chairman W. Scott Railton. Ms. MacDougall received a B.A. from the University of Wisconsin and a J.D. from Marquette University Law School.



Cynthia L. Attwood

Image: Cynthia L. Attwood

Cynthia L. Attwood is a Commissioner on the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission, an independent adjudicatory agency in the executive branch of the federal government. She was first appointed to the Review Commission by President Barack Obama and confirmed by the Senate in 2010 to fill a term that expired on April 27, 2013, and was reappointed by the President with Senate confirmation in August 2013 to fill a term that expires in April 2019. Commissioner Attwood served as Acting Chairman and then Chairman from April 2015 until January 2017.

Prior to her appointment to the Commission, Ms. Attwood spent 30 years in the Federal government as a lawyer and judge. She served for three years as an Administrative Appeals Judge on the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board adjudicating appeals brought under many labor laws and regulations. She also served in the Senior Executive Service at DOL for over ten years, as Associate Solicitor for Occupational Safety and Health, and before that as Associate Solicitor for Mine Safety and Health. As a result of her work at the Department of Labor the President awarded her the rank of Meritorious Executive in the Senior Executive Service. Prior to her service at DOL, Ms. Attwood began her legal career as an appellate attorney in the Department of Justice's Civil Rights Division, where she litigated cases before the Supreme Court and the United States Courts of Appeals.

A native of Oak Park, Illinois, Ms. Attwood holds a B.A. degree from Oakland University and a J.D. degree from the University of Minnesota, where she served on the Law Review and was awarded membership in the Order of the Coif.